Monday, March 13 – Wednesday, March 29

Monday, March 13 – Wednesday, March 29

Since I got back from Ireland, the weather has been great. I’ve been trying to go for walks when I have the time.

Emily and I made our spring break plans on Friday. It took almost all day to book everything, but we planned a trip for Italy and Greece, so I’ll be posting about that trip in the next month!

I went for a walk through a nearby neighborhood on Sunday. I like how there are neighborhoods still close to downtown that feel like their own little villages.

On Saturday (25th), Emily and I went for a walk to two parks in Trélazé (a commune/town right next to Angers). They are right by a slate mine, so there was a lot of slate between the paths and the lakes.

IMG_20170325_143040473
Parc des Ardoisières

We sat by the lake for awhile in the Parc des Ardoisières and then came home, walking past people’s big gardens in the park and cute neighborhoods that remind me of Florida because of the colorful houses. It also felt like Florida because we saw a few lizards and palm trees in people’s yards and outside a McDonald’s.

On Sunday, I went back to the Jardin des Plantes to see the flowers in bloom this time.

I cut through the Jardin du Mail by downtown on my way home.

IMG_20170326_163805234

On Monday (27th), we went to our language class in the morning and then I met a retired French teacher named Edmée and another international student from my program named Yanhong. I had gotten an email from the school saying that Edmée was looking to meet some international students once a week, so I got in contact with her. The three of us sat outside and showed each other where we’re from on a map. She explained that she taught French in London and Switzerland and then lived in the Paris area for awhile before returning to Angers where she grew up. After, Emily and I had a picnic on the grass in the middle of the campus.

We went to our other classes and then walked to the mall. We finally decided to get a discount/membership card for the supermarket we’ve been going to every week. The lady was really nice and let me put the store’s phone number for personal information on the account because I couldn’t use a foreign number (a couple of the other employees had questioned us before when they saw we were using a foreign credit card, so I was relieved that she didn’t give us a hard time). We had to rush home, though, because it was already 7:30 and we’re supposed to be home at 7:30 for dinner.

Our host dad made ratatouille with zucchini, eggplant, and tomatoes one day with dinner. Another day, we had an appetizer that was like a fish pâté: a creamy spread to put on bread, but made out of different kinds of fish and fish eggs. I had to eat a bunch of bread to be able to swallow that.

Emily and I decided to try to start speaking in French to each other again so she can work on her pronunciation and I can work on my vocabulary. We’ve also been talking recently about the differences between American and Canadian English. There are a lot more differences than we thought. For example, they call a robe a housecoat, college is only used to refer to community colleges and doesn’t include universities, and they call notebooks scribblers.

Leave a Reply

